2012 Webber Seavey Award for Quality in Law Enforcement

2012 IACP / Motorola Webber Seavey Award for Quality in Law EnforcementPolice Chief Licata and Commander Oh accepting the 2012 Webber Seavey Award

The Lighthouse Point Police Department was honored as one of only three law enforcement agencies worldwide to win the 2012 International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP) / Webber Seavey Award for Quality in Law Enforcement. The award is presented annually by IACP and Motorola, and is the highest department recognition internationally for innovative law enforcement programs.

The award honors the department for its “Transient Offender Interdiction Program,” an innovative approach to incorporating License Plate Recognition Technology with proactive policing strategies. The project focuses on the development of successful leads in criminal apprehension, criminal case clearances, and the recovery of stolen property, in an effort to protect and improve the quality of life for those who live in Lighthouse Point. Since its inception, the Department has attributed over 100 arrests and the recovery of over $1,000,000 in stolen property to the program.

The Lighthouse Point Police Department Transient Offender Interdiction Program was selected by an international panel of law enforcement executives from programs nominated worldwide. Other 2012 winners include the Albuquerque New Mexico Police Department and Fontana Police Department in California.

The IACP is the world’s largest non-profit association for law enforcement executives. Established in 1893, the IACP has over 14,000 members representing 82 nations. The IACP is headquartered in Alexandria, VA.